Emi Martinez WINS 2023 Yashin Trophy as the ‘world’s best goalkeeper’ after World Cup heroics with Argentina


Aston Villa star Emi ‘Dibu’ Martinez, 31, has been awarded the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper of the 2022-23 season at the Ballon d’Or ceremony in Paris.

The Argentine claimed the trophy on Monday night following his heroics for Argentina, as they won the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The award was first given out in 2019 and is named after iconic Russian ‘keeper Lev Yashin.

Emi Martinez beat, in order, Manchester City’s Ederson, Morocco star Yassine Bounou, Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois, Barcelona’s Marc-Andre Ter Stegen, Cameroon international Andre Onana, Croatia’s Dominik Livakovic, Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale, AC Milan’s Mike Maignan and Lens’ Brice Samba.

Alisson won the first-ever Yashin Trophy but the Liverpool goalkeeper has not made the shortlist this time around as Martinez becomes only the fifth winner of this prestigious accolade.

Previous winners of the award include Liverpool’s Alisson Becker, Paris Saint-Germain’s Gianluigi Donnarumma and Real Madrid’s Thibaut Courtois.

Previous articleAitana Bonmati WINS 2023 Women’s Ballon d’Or after inspiring Spain to Women’s World Cup glory
Next articleErling Haaland WINS the ‘Gerd Muller Trophy’ at Ballon d’Or 2023
Ola Alabi
Ola Moses is a certified writer, He writes technically and creatively. He is the CEO of WORDSWORTH, a house where writing is made easier for all. He is a content creator at EsB TV, since 2019. He is a young man that showcases professionalism in all that he does, he was announced as Child and Green Foundation Person of the Year 2018, one of his many lists of honours.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here